Today is Autism Awareness Day

Today is Autism Awareness Day – and I am Autistic. The last several days have changed my perspective on so much. I used to feel that I was not worthy of being cared for, loved or respected the way I wished to be. But really, everyone should be treated with respect, consideration, love, understanding and compassion – autistic or not.

So perhaps today is Autism Awareness Day.  But maybe it just needs to be people awareness day – or just awareness day. Because it isn’t just Autistics who need compassion, and it isn’t just Autistics who may need to be more aware, and work to do the right things.  I have felt and seen behavior from others that I would be so ashamed of if it had come from me. I have to work so hard to understand the right things to do, and where I sometimes fail, I do try…

Leave a Reply

