What we hate is behaviors, what we love is people…

“All hatred of others is a reflection of self-hatred. All love of others is a reflection of self-love.” – Alan Cohen

I saw this quote and was thinking about it a lot in context of me. For so many years I thought I hated myself, and so freely saw things I loved in other people. I have never hated others. I had always found it so easy to look past faults in others that I was so quick to condemn myself for. So perhaps in me, I had this saying backwards – that I hated in myself that which I could not stand to see in others – because my heart wanted so to simply love them. And I loved in others what I was not capable of understanding was there to love in myself. So perhaps the answer is more that what we hate is behaviors – what we love is people. Our task is to not confuse the two.
Leave a Reply

