To love, and just to love, until nothing else matters…

“If you love and get hurt, love more. If you love more and hurt more, love even more. If you love even more and get hurt even more, love some more until it hurts no more…” William Shakespeare (though authorship questioned)

“I have found the paradox, that if you love until it hurts, there can be no more hurt, only more love.” Mother Teresa

They say there is no such thing as an original thought. But it is nice to be in such good company. Because this is a conclusion I came to (on my own, before having seen these) a bit back. But I agree with them, and any other illustrious thinkers who may also agree. Hurt is not love. Hurt is a byproduct of our humanness. A necessary byproduct, no doubt. But as perfect love casts out fear, so should it cast out pain. My desire – in looking to those I love – is to just love. Is to be able to put aside the “I wish he would…”, or “I wish she felt…”. Being human, it may be a while before I achieve that goal (she says, tongue in cheek, realizing she probably never will), but this is what I aspire to. To love, and just to love, until nothing else matters…

Leave a Reply

