Be the one who finds emeralds, too…

I posted yesterday (and have seen several others post recently as well) the verse from Proverbs 11:27, which I love “Anyone can find the dirt in someone. Be the one that finds the gold.” I am exceedingly grateful that the quest for what is good in people seems to have been inborn in me. I take no credit for it, but am grateful for it as one of the precious gifts I have been given. But I want to add to this thought. Look for the gold, yes, but don’t overlook the rubies, emeralds, topaz, etc… You get the point, I’m sure. We all shine in different ways. I watched “Ice Cold Gold” recently about miners in Greenland looking for gold. They were pretty pleased when they instead found rubies, ounce for ounce worth more than the gold they sought. In people, each of us has different qualities worth searching for, and cherishing when found. So, yes, look for the gold, but don’t fail to appreciate an occasional topaz…

Leave a Reply

