Seeing me in you, and you in me

I used to see people I loved and say “I wish I could be… <them>”. Now I realize I never really wanted quite that, and understand that what I really want is to refine the edges of me to highlight the traits I love in them. 
Incorporating bits of the people I love in me… is a thought that I really cherish, because now I begin to look at myself and realize that they and I share this trait – that I love them for. And me and someone else share that trait, that I love them for – and to me it hugs them even closer to my heart, that they have helped refine the best in me.

Leave a Reply

