Give it to God

I have always had a problem with the phrase “Give it to God”. Not because I don’t want to, but because I really just don’t know how. As an Autistic, the tendency is to analyze everything to death, so in that I realize that “give it to God” never means just go lay in bed and don’t get up and expect that God will make everything right. We have to DO something, as in “ God helps those who help themselves”, so where is the line between helping and trying to control? And I find that especially hard when it comes to relating to other people, because the whole relating thing is something I find difficult. I don’t know what I say, or what I do that will evoke the response(s) that I had intended – often even when that response is as simple as a smile. So I searched my soul to answer that question, and the answer is that I don’t have an answer, except for the voice that echoes in the pit of my stomach. The voice that I hope is God’s. I have to believe if that voice evokes a feeling of warmth and excitement in me, then I am sharing from love, and that’s what I (and I hope God) wants me to do, regardless of how it is immediately received. But if that voice finds a pit in my stomach, then I am sharing from fear, and I apologize to everyone I love for all of those times. My hope from now on is that even if my approach is awkward, my words misplaced, my timing misunderstood, that I will share from love, for love is that which I wish to share.

Leave a comment